Back to All Events

Blueshift Ensemble + ICEBERG New Music

Blueshift Ensemble + ICEBERG New Music

Thursday, June 14, 2018
7:00 pm
Crosstown Concourse -- Central Atrium

Blueshift Ensemble performs works by five composers of the ICEBERG New Music Collective, a group of composers based in the NYC area. The concert will feature pieces by Harry Stafylakis, Alex Burtzos, Jonathan Russ, Stephanie Ann Boyd, and Derek Cooper. 

Harry Staflyakis, String Quartet No. 4 "Aftermath"
Alex Burtzos, The Impossible Object for violin and piano
Stephanie Ann Boyd, Imogen for flute and piano
Derek Cooper, Kill James for bassoon, cello, and piano
Jonathan Russ, String Quartet No. 1 "Earth Tones"

Founded by Alex Burtzos in 2016, ICEBERG New Music is a collective of ten young composers based in New York City. ICEBERG's mission is to promote the idea that substance, not surface, is the heart of music creation and perception. The collective's ten member composers hail from different schools of thought and cultivate radically different sounds – from musical theater and indie rock to avant-garde sounds and electronic installations – but their contrasting musical languages belie a shared emphasis on structure and depth of meaning. When these artists compose for the same ensemble and present their works during a joint concert, the result is a glimpse into the ever-widening possibilities of art music in the twenty-first century.


Earlier Event: July 16
Continuum Music Festival